Missing you already

We decided that I should stay and help JS’s parents unpack and settle in while he goes back to Harare. This is all very logical since I know exactly where everything is packed and I don’t have any real commitments in Harare at the moment. However, I miss him already… He hasn’t even left the driveway and I’m already looking at him with puppy-dog eyes practically begging him to stay. I had to close the steal gate as quickly as possible because I was on the brink of running in front of his bakkie; jumping on the hood and shouting: “Don’t go!” I’m not good with goodbyes. I’ve never been. This may be rooted in the times we use to leave my grandparents house after the long holidays to undertake the 12 hour drive back home or maybe I just feel bad for being lousy at phone conversations and afraid I won’t be able to keep in touch when we can’t speak face to face. Maybe I just love the people in life so much that I couldn’t imagine my life without them. Whatever the case, sometimes we have to part ways. Sometimes it’s for longer than we could ever have imagined. All I can do is hope that it will only be for a few days and start imagining the things we’ll do when we see each other again. I love his parents I can take comfort in knowing that they probably miss him almost as much as I do. On the bright side this gives me time to hear all the stories about him in diapers. I love loving him and I guess we’ll have to say goodbye many more times, let’s just hope we get to say ‘Hello’ even more times. In the time it took me to write this short piece, I already sent him 4 messages that he can’t reply to because he’s still driving home. To him it may seem like I’m pestering him but I just want to make sure he knows that I think about him when he’s not around and that I love him always… Think I’m going to go pester him some more.

Till later,

AM

What is your view?

