Something Salty

We just had a lovely dinner and thought I’d rub my happiness in your face. I don’t mean it in a bad way, I’m just really happy!

We made Spaghetti Bolognese together for the first time. You need to realize that we’re both fiercely independent and when it comes to cooking we’re very meticulous. We prefer doing the divide and concur-thing to the point where if his side of the kitchen was on fire, I wouldn’t help him because that’s the way he’d prefer it. The same goes for me, unless of course the other person is holding the fire extinguisher in their hand… it’s not like we’d let each other crash and burn.

I think I’m making this more complicated than it needs to be. Let me try that again: he was doing the meat and sauce side of it and all I had to do was the spaghetti and set the table. When it came to cutting onions he was struggling a bit, which he didn’t expect because he thought that wearing glasses [he’s only had them a week because of the intense amount of hours he has to spend in front of a computer each day] would help. Obviously it doesn’t, unless the glasses are not fitted properly and basically cuts of the air supply through your nose… Most people assume the crying that accompanies cutting onions is caused by your eyes but it’s actually due to the smell. This is also why people advise you to put a spoon in your mouth while cutting unions thereby forcing you to breathe through your mouth instead of your nose.

Usually he’d get upset if I mentioned something like that, simply because he is too hard on himself and hates not being brilliantly perfect every second of every day. We’ve had a few of those moments today and it does go both ways. I like being right but even more than that, I like learning something new. I think it’s a pretty good combination and if our cooking tonight is anything to go by, this might just be a winning recipe.

There were a few more of those silly little things in the 15min it took us to cook dinner including the mixing of an Oxo cube but these are a bit harder to explain so I’ll just skip the logistics and get to the point. It’s like for the first time we weren’t cooking as a team [where everyone has their defined roles and better stick to them] instead it was more like we were cooking together for the first time…

I have to admit that it tasted pretty freaking awesome! I think we managed to surprise not only each other but also ourselves. Spaghetti might just become my new favourite dish! The coolest thing is that we made it together and enjoyed it together. We’re very different people but every day we find something seemingly small that we have in common and somehow that’s a lot more important than all the things we vary in.

By the way, if you ever come over for dinner be prepared for something salty because we can’t seem to get enough of the ingenious white stuff.

Till next time,

AM

What is your view?

