Believing

I’m a Christian. I think our religion is pretty passive. The whole ‘free will’ thing has led us to believe that we don’t have to convert others, we just have to live our lives with our beliefs and sooner or later everyone else would come around. Just to be clear: this is not a testimonial or a big speech designed to make everyone choose God. In fact I have several friends who are Atheists and I respect the fact that it is their choice, personally I have just seen too much in my life not too believe in God. For instance- my aunt has a form of MS (Multiple Scyros’s), I really can’t spell the full name of her condition but needless to say it is not something you recover from. For the last four years her body has slowly been giving up on her. About two years ago she was in a wheelchair and couldn’t sit up for more than 3 hours at a time. Doctors told the family to say our goodbyes because she wouldn’t make it to Christmas. Well that was 2 years ago. And to the astonishment and total disbelief of some of the best doctors in the world, she got better. With MS ‘better’ is generally classified as ‘not getting worse’ but in my aunts case a considerable amount of prayers and faith did what medicine could not as she regained her motor skills.Her biggest achievement was being able to take a bath on her own again. Something as simple as getting in and out of a bathtub without help gave her the strength to carry on. Doctors have tried to explain this recovery and with all their science and research have come up short. To me there is no question that God is in control. Trust me, I’ve done my best to disprove this life style choice and even screw up His master plan or at least the one He has for me but no matter how deep into trouble I manage to get myself; He still finds a way to pull me out. To turn something I see as the worst possible ‘my life is over’ moment into the best thing that ever happened to me. At the moment my aunt is in hospital because her heart is getting tired of beating. A lot of people have asked how I can believe in a god that allows suffering. I don’t know how to answer them, except to say that she has had 2 years more than her earthly doctors would have given her; she has had time to reconnect with her sisters and brother; she has had time to see her children graduate and fall in love. This won’t make up for any of the moments she might miss out on but it’s something none the less. Right now my family is praying for her to pull through and continue her normal life. But in all fairness, I can’t pray for that… Firstly because I can’t see the future and I don’t know what’s best for everyone involved and secondly because I know what her family has been sacrificing over the last few years and I know in how much pain she is every day. I can’t pretend that if she pulls through this that everything will magically be ok, because it won’t. It might be ok for a bit but her kids have placed their lives on hold to be close to her in the last few years and her husband barely sleeps because he’s afraid if he closes his eyes for too long, he might wake up to her not waking up. So instead I’m choosing to trust in God and know that He sees further than we can. “Faith is being sure of what you hope for and certain of what you do not see” so I’m sure everything will work out for the best and certain that my family will continue to love each other and God forever more. It may sound corny but it’s my beliefs and I will defend them to the ends of the earth. I believe in God and that His gifts and call are irrevocable. I have always been open about my religious beliefs and I don’t see that changing. I don’t expect everyone to share my view but as long as you have one, I’ll be willing to discuss mine with you. At the end of the day it is good to know that God is in control and not some silly president sitting in an office somewhere… AM

What is your view?

