A Christmas Prayer

Uhm, changed my mind…. I wrote this a few days before Christmas, while I was missing my family and the big Christmas parties we use to have. After my grandmother died of cancer a few years ago, our family has slowly been going our separate ways and Christmas was the last symbol of our family unity that’s starting to dissolve…

So here’s: Christmas Prayer

*****

Tear drops gently remind me

A long time ago, just a memory

We’d dance and sing and be happy

Around a sparkling Christmas tree

Together one great big family

 

Will these feelings ever subside?

Or are they as determined as the ocean tide

Tumbling about searching for a guide

Duck beneath a wave so I can hide

Just for a second I’m in control of this emotional ride

Barely floating but at least I tried

 

Tear drops gently remind me

A long time ago, just a memory

We’d dance and sing and be happy

Around a sparkling Christmas tree

Together one great big family

 

Use to be a happy thought now just grave

Lying on the dirt road they forgot to pave

Attention is not what I crave

Watching cars pass by as they wave

Stay here long enough to forget everything you gave

I’ve become merely someone to save

 

Tear drops gently remind me

A long time ago, just a memory

We’d dance and sing and be happy

Around a sparkling Christmas tree

Together one great big family

 

Our numbers are dwindling

Rather stay in my one man meeting

No one needs to know my courage is fleeting

Drown in bubbles as I’m bathing

Recapture a moment of childhood trusting

Cold water brings me back to doubting

 

Tear drops gently remind me

A long time ago, just a memory

We’d dance and sing and be happy

Around a sparkling Christmas tree

Together one great big family

 

Just trying to make it through the day

Nights are worse as I listen to what the stars say

Years later I’m starting to stray

Having trouble seeing the beauty as I pray

Give me strength to see your way

Lead me to once again see the sun’s ray

*****

Sharing my view,

AM

What is your view?

