Stop The Rain

Rain + No electricity = me writing a lot. So here’s something else I just scribbled down in the last few days: Stop the rain

*****

I’m the bird caught out by the rain

Hiding beside a gutter drain

Trying my best to stay dry

When all I really want to do is cry

Can you even see me sitting here?

Or aren’t these words coming through, clear

When it rains, it truly pours

When it ends, heaven locks all its doors

Need a hand to reach out and save me

Trying to get over it is driving me crazy

Want to break through this elution of pain

I just don’t know how to stop the rain

Still waiting it out on my perch

Can’t even remember the last time I went to church

Watching the drops flood the ground below

Lost in thought, didn’t even hear you say Hello

You’ve been watching while I quiver

Can you really guide me through this river?

When it rains, it truly pours

When it ends, heaven locks all its doors

Need a hand to reach out and save me

Trying to get over it is driving me crazy

Want to break through this elution of pain

I just don’t know how to stop the rain

Scared to leave the safety of my withdrawal

Not sure I can trust anything at all

But the cold is getting to me

Willingly trapped, I want to be free

Shakily I fluff out my feathers

Venturing the changing weathers

When it rains, it truly pours

When it ends, heaven locks all its doors

*****

AM

What is your view?

