Today

So, right now Japan is in some serious trouble and on a nuclear threat alert. What does that even mean?! Well, to me it means that it’s finally time for me to end this petty feud with my mother…

I can’t really tell you what it’s about, simply because I was 4 when it started so whatever it was, clearly doesn’t matter anymore and all the things in between was just pointless squabbling. See, for the first time today, I miss my mother. Now that probably sounds weird and it’s not like I’ve ever  really hated my mother, it’s just that I couldn’t find the strength to love her like I should. Mainly because it hurt too much to forgive her for all the times she disappointed me and hurt me. So I practically just numbed it out and well, here we are.

So, I was just sitting there doing nothing of particular importance and it hit me: “I miss my mother”. As simple as that… I actually felt something when I thought about my mother instead of that emptiness. This is huge for me! And I know we’re going to have to have some serious talks and it’s not going to be easy but I’m actually open to letting her in again and to allow myself to feel something related to my mother…

I’m not really sure why you should care about any of this but this is sort of a big step for me so I just wanted to share it. And maybe while we’re all contemplating how terrifying this world is right now, we might take a few seconds to look around us and see the people in our world instead of just the statistics. It’s easy to say you’re praying for Japan or thinking about all the countries affected by Tsunamis but are you really? Are you really stopping to think about someone’s little sister or someone’s father out there, completely vulnerable?

Well if you find it a tough ask or you’re simply not sure you can handle that kind of strain, instead just take a second to think about the people in your life. Yes the world is on all sorts of alert but there are other people still dying all around us all the time… And I’m not just referring to diseases like Cancer or Aids or murders and violence; I’m also focusing on depression and suicide, two very silent but lethal killers. It really shouldn’t have to take natural disasters to bring us back to a point where we can care about each other again.

Our faith in humanity is dwindling and I think when people start giving up on each other, we all sort of lose. So hug the person next to you and call your friend on the other side of the world just to say hi but most importantly, don’t be afraid to care…

Just sharing my view,

AM

FYI: if you want to join a charity that really is all about humanity and caring about those we share a planet with, check out Don’t Lose Your Grip

What is your view?

