Pieces That Don’t Fit

This is the last of our ‘By the fire’ ramblings I’ll be posting. We all feel like the world crumbles down around us but when you spend some time with true friends, you’re reminded how brilliant life is despite all the confusion.

*****

I need a moment … just one moment

To reflect on me. To cut through the bullshit.

And see my face. Person staring back at me is a phantom

Never saw those dark eyes before

Where did they come from? What did I dissolve into?

 

Tossing and turning, dreams that just won’t stop

Decoding my emotions, why are there no instructions?

If I could only wake up to see the dawn

Everything I overheard, just pieces that don’t fit

 

I need a moment… just one moment

To reflect on me. To cut through the bullshit.

And see my face. Person staring back at me is a phantom

Never saw those dark eyes before

Where did I come from? What am I dissolving into?

 

Ducking under the covers, burry my head in a corner

Wishing I could remember or at least forget.

Stuck in limbo, fighting with my pillow

Touching on the truth but not quite there, yet

 

I need a moment … just one moment

To reflect on me. To cut through the bullshit.

And see my face. Person staring back at me is a phantom

Never saw those dark eyes before

How long will they stay with me? What will I dissolve into?

 

Kicking off the duvet, borrow my teddy’s courage

Don’t know anymore than yesterday. I’m still me

Maybe it doesn’t matter, coz I can’t let it. I won’t let it

It’s the smell of success that trumps the stench of doubt

 

I’ll take a moment… just one moment

To reflect on me. To cut through the bullshit. (Be honest)

And see my face. Person staring back at me is just me

Never saw through those deep eyes before

When did I become so tall? Let the puzzle dissolve too

 

It’s the pieces that don’t fit

That makes life worth the effort….

It’s worth the effort…

I’m worth the effort

*****

Thank you guys for sharing this weekend with me. The lack of sleep was totally worth it! You’re the best!

What is your view?

